This year, I will be home for the holidays.

stressless-ruby-best

My grown children are arriving soon from Colorado and Texas. Dear guests will drop by. My aunt will  be making cookies and pie. I’ll be buying the beer and wine.  It is the least and the most I can do. And the cold days and long nights give rise to thoughts like these:

The highlight in December is Christmas
A day we are all waiting for
When family and guest gather round
To listen to the sound of carols
To share presents under the tree
To raise a spirited cheer
With a glass of wine
To throw a log of wood on the fire
And stare at the flickering light
But out in the hills and valleys and woods
At night
The animals gather too
Underneath the twinkling stars
To ward off the cold and dark
There below the heavenly skies

To experience the beauty of the snow and the silence

